Sam Bowne

CCSF  · CCSF Student Email  · CNIT  · VMware & Microsoft Software  · Evals  · Azure & Parallels  · News  · Contact & Bio  · Old Classes  · Use Policy  · Disclosure Policy  · Hall of Fame  · Check-in  · Videos & Podcasts  ·  Student Videos  ·  CTFs  ·  Defcon Materials  ·  Recommended Training Events  ·  Uptime

Old Research · Android App Vulns · Bitcoin Power Consumption

CNIT Is Hiring Part-Time Instructors Now

School Closed

CCSF is closed until Mon, Nov 26

Fall 2018 Classes

CNIT 40: DNS Security
Meets on these Weds: 8-22, 9-19, 10-3, 10-24, 11-14, 12-5
Wed 6-9, SCIE 200, 77239

CNIT 123: Ethical Hacking and Network Defense
Thu 6-9, SCIE 204, 72250

CNIT 126: Practical Malware Analysis
Tue 6-9, MUB 388, 78188

CNIT 127: Exploit Development
78189 Sat 1-4, SCIE 37
CNIT 127 meets at 1:40 PM Sat, Nov 3
and at 3:00 PM Sat, Nov 10

CNIT 152: Incident Response
Mon 6-9, MUB 388, 78482

All classes above live-streamed free
See individual course pages for details

Taught by Elizabeth Biddlecome

CNIT 140: IT Security Practices
Sat 10-1, SCIE 37, 77301
Training for the Collegiate Cyberdefense Competition

CNIT 197 & 198: Internship and Work Experience
77248 & 77249 Orientation & Job Fair, Tue Sept 4 4-6 in MUB 140

S214 Open Lab Hours
Lab Monitor Check-Ins

Office hrs: 30 min. after each class in SCIE 214, except the first week of the semester

Calendar of Instruction  ·  Payroll Schedules

Spring 2019 Classes

CNIT 50: Network Security Monitoring
Sat 1:10 - 4:00; 1-19, 2-9, 2-23, 3-16, 4-6, 4-27
SCIE 303, CRN 39097

CNIT 124: Advanced Ethical Hacking
Sat 9:10 am - 12:00 PM, SCIE 37, CRN 39101
Website from a previous semester

CNIT 128: Hacking Mobile Devices
Wed 6:10 - 9:00 PM, SCIE 113, CRN 39102

CNIT 129S: Securing Web Applications
Mon 6:10 - 9:00 PM, SCIE 8, CRN 39237
Website from a previous semester

CNIT 141: Cryptography for Computer Networks
Tue 6:10 - 9:00 PM, SCIE 8, CRN 39103
Website from a previous semester

CNIT 197 & 198: Internship and Work Experience
Website from a previous semester

CNIT 40 and 123 will be taught by other instructors

Competition Results

WRCCDC Virtual Invitational Results

Cybersecurity Programs

AS Degree · CyberSecurity Certficate · Advanced Cybersecurity Certificate
Petition for Associate Degree · Certificate Petition
Honors Program · Security Apprenticeship Program  ·  Promotional slide show

Regular Training Events

OpenLate @OpenDNS on Tues. evenings
Pacific IT Pros (see website for schedule)


Upcoming Events


Thu, Nov 29, 2018 Adrian Kaylor, Splunk Sales Engineer

6 pm, SCIE 204


Fri, Nov 30 -
Mon Dec 3, 2018
Metasploit CTF


Sat, Dec 1, 2018
10:30 am - 2:30 pm
WRCCDC Virtual Invitational


Tue, Dec 4, 2018 Tim O'Brien
Risk and incident management,
intrusion and data analysis, and
secure architecture design

6 pm, MUB 388


Thu, Dec 6, 2018 Best of .conf18 Splunk PowerUp


Fri, Dec 14, 2018 DUE: Draft WRCCDC Team Roster


Sun, Dec 16, 2018 Pacific Hackers CTF

12:00 - 5:00, Fortinet Inc.
899 Kifer Rd.
Sunnyvale, CA 94086


Starts Soon SANS Holiday Hack Challenge


Wed, Nov 7 -
Wed, Dec 5
RUSecure CTF (EASY)

Radford University, Virginia


Thu, Jan 3, 2019 -
Fri, Jan 4, 2019
WASTC

2019 Winter ICT Educators' Conference

Approved workshop: Binary Exploits and Assembly Code

10:30 - 12:30 Thurs.


Mon, Jan 7, 2019 Women in Information Security Study Group

Practical Malware Analysis

6:00 - 8:00 PM EST (online)

Sign up

Password: MALWARE


Sun, Jan 13, 2019 Pacific Hackers

1:00 - 5:00
Mobile Iron
490 E Middlefield Road
Mountain View, CA


Sat, Jan 26, 2019
9:30 am - 3:30 pm
WRCCDC Virtual Qualifier


Feb 10, 2019 -
Feb 20, 2019
EasyCTF


Sat, Mar 2, 2019 -
Mon, Mar 4, 2019
BSidesSF

My proposed workshops: "Essential Memory Corruption Exploits" & "Reverse Engineering Mobile Apps", with Elizabeth Biddlecome


Mon, Mar 4 -
Fri, Mar 8, 2019
RSA

My proposed workshop: Crypto Hero
with Elizabeth Biddlecome

Answer expected in mid-November 2018


Thu, Mar 28, 2019 -
Sat, Mar 30, 2019
WiCyS
Pittsburg, PA

My proposed workshop: Crypto Hero
with Elizabeth Biddlecome

Notification of status: Saturday, December 1, 2018


Fri, May 17, 2019 -
Sun, May 19, 2019
HackMiami Con 7


Working Connections IT Faculty Development Institute

Mon, May 20 - Fri, May 24, 2019

Capital City Training Center, 130 W. Mason, Springfield, IL

Cyber Buffet 2018

Monday: Introduction to Security (Security+)
Tuesday: Ethical Hacking, Python, and Cryptography
Wednesday: Digital Forensics and Incident Response
Thursday: Securing Web Applications and Mobile Devices
Friday: Malware Analysis and Exploit Development

Learn a wide variety of cybersecurity topics with brief explanations, demonstrations and many hands-on projects, in a fun Capture The Flag-style gamified learning environment. The projects are designed to be dropped into your classes for immediate use, and will remain freely available after the workshop.

Many projects are introductory and require nothing more than a Web browser; others are more advanced and use virtual machines and/or cloud servers runnning Windows Server 2016, Linux, and Android. We will audit the security of apps running on Apple and Android phones, and exploit major financial Android apps. We will also implement and attack blockchains, including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Multichain, Hyperledger, and Stellar.

There will be a live scoreboard and prizes!


CircleCityCon

Indianapolis, Fri., May 31 - Sun., June 2


Black Hat Trainings

Las Vegas, Sat, Aug 3 - Tue, Aug 6, 2019

Proposed class: Practical Cryptography
with Elizabeth Biddlecome

BSidesLV

Las Vegas, Tue, Aug 6 - Wed, Aug 7, 2019

The Diana Initiative

DEF CON 27

Las Vegas, Thu, Aug 8 - Sun, Aug 11, 2019

 


CactusCon

Early Dec., 2019
Mesa Convention Center, Mesa, AZ


Classes Planned for Fall 2019
(May change)

CNIT 127: Exploit Development
Tue 6-9 Website from a previous semester

CNIT 129S: Securing Web Applications
Thu 6-9 Website from a previous semester

CNIT 141: Cryptography for Computer Networks
Tue 6-9

Website from a previous semester

CNIT 152: Incident Response
Sat 1-4 Website from a previous semester

CNIT 160: Cybersecurity Responsibilities
Mon 6-9

CNIT 40, 123, 125, 140, 197, and 198
will be taught by other instructors

Free MS Office

Certification Test Vouchers

Wi-Fi at CCSF

CCSF Disclaimer

Office365

Updated: 11-19-18 11:14 am